//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Dolomiti by motorcycle

20.-21.Aug 2013 – 601 km – Netto driving 11:30 hours

Screen Shot 2014-04-22 at 20.37.43

Day 1: Lesce-Toblach-Tre Cine-Cortina D’Ampezzo.

I was confident, when starting this trip in the middle of the day in the poring rain, that the rain will stop somewhere on the Italy-Austria border. IMG_3026Motorcycling in the rain is no fun for a rookie like me, but with every kilometre I was feeling more and more confident. Close to Silian, just before Italy, rain stopped and gave way to to clear, dark blue, sky. On the road from Toblach to Cortina, I made a detour via Tre Cine natural park. Probably the only mountain pass road in Italy where you have to pay the toll. But 10EUR is not a lot for all the views you get.  The road was a bit busy since in August almost all of the Italy is on vacation. My plan was to sleep in Cortina in one of the campings. Some years ago we were sleeping in of them. Two campings are situated just by the river, one on the left side when you cross the bridge and one on the right side. Without any true reason, I chose the left one. Due to luggage space limitations I took only my summer sleeping bag which turned out to be a bad decision. Even in August, nights in the Alps on altitudes above 1000 metres, can be chilly. 

Day 2: Cortina D’Ampezzo-Passo Giao-Passo Valparola-Passo Campolongo-Passo Pordoi-Passo Fedaia-Passo Giao-Cortina-Toblach-Lesce.

Screen Shot 2014-04-22 at 20.36.52

Starting just after 10AM, I went straight to one of my favourites, Passo Giau. Beautiful tarmac, second to none turns in a crispy summer morning. IMG_3042IMG_3046Pure fun. After descend, Passo Falzarego was next.IMG_3054IMG_3052 Too crowded even to park a motorcycle, but the road and the scenery is just amazing. Just behind the corner from Falzarego is Passo Valparola with 1st world war buildings converted into small museum.

Descend towards Corvara and to Passo Campolongo was next, Campolongo is nothing special, but it was necessary to drive just to get to the next big thing, Passo Pordoi. In Arraba, I turned right and drove to Pordoi. IMG_3067Road to and from Pordoi was really the highlight of the trip. Again, the crowd at the pass pushed me downhill pretty fast. Passo Sella is very close and again, beautiful road around beautiful turns. IMG_3071After Sella, descend to Canazei and climb to Passo Pordoi with beautiful view of Marmolada and big lake at the top of the pass. IMG_3081To get to Cortina IMG_3084 and home, one more Giau was necessary. On Giau I decided to go straight home. My Zumo was telling me that I will get home at around 8PM, just before dark. After a long drive from 10AM to 8PM, I got home as predicted by Garmin.

 

Google maps link

Razprava

Zaenkrat še ni komentarjev.

Komentiraj

Strani